What's Next after Python?

Providing you ideas of what you can do next after learning python or better yet an opening to further your journey.

Hey, I'm Dalius and I'm a Software Developer. You are probably at a point in your journey as a new developer if your first language is Python, asking yourself "What do I do next after learning Python". Learning one language can be...pretty dull at a point but don't worry. We are in an industry where tech is evolving and we can level up ourselves in this environment. So that leaves us with this question

the suggestions I do have are learning a new language, getting more familiar with the front-end by learning Javascript, and even giving machine learning a try.

Learning a New Language

Okay, I'll be the one to openly say. Working on the same language for a long period of time if you are a bootcamp grad or self-taught can be good in a way. Sharpening that one skill that it's literally the sharpest weapon in your set but...It can be kind of dull to a certain extent. Not to ruin your beloved language, I just want to suggest a solution to keep burnout away. Here are some suggestions.

  1. GO (Lang): Is one popular language that seems to be on the rise. Lets' say you have a language that shares the simplicity of python and also has some similarities of c language programming.

  2. Try a Challenging language. Learning C/ C++/ C#. I have been dabbling in learning C# for times I want to try a language that is big on microservices.

    those are my suggestions but there is more

Python and Javascript make a great dynamic

During my journey as a Software Engineer. I became intrigued with the front-end so much that I wanted to give Javascript frameworks and libraries a try but didn't want to let go of my usual back-end(Python). As you may know or forgotten. At the start of the journey the first three languages you get introduced to is HTML, CSS and yes, Javascript. Only given a basic understanding of it to make small projects like making a one page website for functional. I do suggest working with it to maybe make it so there isn't a cap on the amount of knowledge that you can gain in the future. I will go over frameworks and libraries later but in brief, React(library) and Vue(Framework) are both very simple to learn. Angular (Framework), I find to be a bit more of a learning curve.

plus, you never know working on a project where you can test and work on your own api's is very fun for me in my opinion.

Machine Learning and AI

if you still want to be very much more reliant and look at this article as "no can do sir, I start with this language I end with this language". Then you sir or ma'am are very much still a warrior at your own right. But may I suggest learning something that has been in the headlines recently like learning TensorFlow or Pytorch.

I have not yet dabbled into furthering myself in this area but it's a very interesting one still. But if you appreciate a framework that is straightforward for your projects then I would suggest Pytorch. Even though one of its limitations is the visualization.

TensorFlow wins at visualization and of course it's created by none other than Google being a robust framework for machine learning. Which also excels at "Large scale Machine Learning models" used in real-world applications.

That is all to my article and thank you for the read for whoever comes across my blog. Have a great journey and like always Consistency is the key to success